My Boyfriend Ghosted Me. Now We’re Engaged.

Sophie Babinski
3 min readOct 21, 2019

I got a boyfriend by vowing to say “yes” to every boy that asked me out during the summer of 2016. I had first come into contact with this particular boy (at 29, he was a man I guess) in early April at a mutual friend’s birthday party. This was April 2016, and the United States Presidential contest between Hilary Clinton and Donald Trump was at a fever pitch. At the time, I was in a job that I truly loved, making peanuts and learning more than I could ever have imagined. I had decided that spring that I wanted a boyfriend- a serious boyfriend, someone I could marry. I had suffered through an intense breakup years earlier and had been keeping romantic partners casual, scared of being vulnerable and of being emotionally intimate with them. Anyway, we hit it off at this birthday party, trading banter about politics and Trump (years later, I realize he was basically not following the election and was just going with whatever I said). As he was about to leave the party, I went out on a limb and offered him my number. Fast forward a few weeks, we had gone out on two dates and were clearly not a match and so…he ghosted me.

I took it in stride. I am going through a fresh breakup and I would have disappointed you anyway he texted a month later after I decided to reach out with a simple dagger emoji. Fine, I thought, I am just going to continue saying yes to all of the boys that…

--

--

Sophie Babinski

Writer, marketer, runner. Jack of all trades, master of some (I hope)